Past events

Joy Hendry Webinar + Q&A
Tuesday 12 May 2020, 02:00pm - 03:00pm
Hits : 1187
by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

RAI WEBINAR

WEBINAR SERIES OF THE ROYAL ANTHROPOLOGICAL INSTITUTE

'An Affair with a Village'  Webinar + Q&A

Professor Joy Hendry (Oxford Brookes) 

Tuesday 12 May at 2pm BST (UK)

Other time zones: 3pm CEST (Central European Summer Time) / 10pm JST (Japan) / 9am EDT (East Coast US) / 11pm AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time) 


A video of the event is available here

 

Before participating, please make sure you have already watched Joy Hendry's documentary 
'Understanding Japanese Culture - 45 years researching a village in rural Japan'  (length 45') on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x7qptoXqnhE 



Abstract

In 1975-6, anthropologist Joy Hendry did a year's fieldwork in a village in Kyushu, Japan, collecting all kinds of materials including a huge village/family tree. Funded by the Daiwa Anglo-Japanese Foundation she took these back in the autumn of 2019. She has visited the village several times over the years, keeping in touch and updating her published work, and the film, made by her son James and his partner, Nadine, describes this long-term relationship. Joy's talk will describe some of the background and feelings she has about her "affair" with the occupants of this village. The word "affair" acknowledges the sense of excitement but also slight illegitimacy an anthropologist may experience about interfering in people's lives in this way.